Intro
Target customers are constantly searching for the right ecommerce businesses with products that help solve their pains.
As an ecommerce store, having the right strategy for your marketing can help drive more conversions, generate leads, and close them to be customers. This article shares strategies you can use to increase your store conversion rate and get more sales and revenue.
What is Conversion Rate Optimization
These are the strategies and ways in which brands use to increase the percentage of website visitors who take action once they land on the website which can lead to conversion and purchase of ecommerce products. These actions can be:
- Joining email list
- Requesting a product demo
- Buying a product
- Booking a call with the sales team
How is it Calculated?
Here is the formula to calculate the conversion rate for your e-commerce store or any other business you have. You divide the number of conversions by the total number of website visitors.
For example, if in one month your ecommerce store receives 10,000 visitors and 2000 out of those sign up for the newsletter or ask product demo. Then your conversion rate is 2000/10000 *100 = 20%
Metrics to Help Measure Ecommerce Conversions
- Bounce rate The number of people who visit a website and don’t take any action. They land on a website and leave without viewing any other page.
- Average session duration Measures the average time a visitor stays on a website page
- Average order value Tracks the average amount a customer spends every time they purchase a business.
- Shopping cart abandonment rate This measures the number of target customers who add items to the cart in the checkout process but don’t complete the whole process.
- Refund and return rate This shows the number of customers who purchase products from ecommerce stores and return them for different reasons.
Ways to Boost Ecommerce Conversion Rates
1. Use High-Quality Images For Your Products
Your customer wants to see what they’re purchasing from your store. To drive more conversions, show your target customers the products you offer.
Take high-quality pictures of your products and add descriptions that show the prospect more about the product and how it can solve their pains if they purchase it. Here are some examples of smartwatch product pictures on Amazon.
Source: Amazon
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Make sure you use high-quality tools to give the target audience clear and high-quality images for the products you sell on your ecommerce store. Ensure you optimize the pictures for search ranking.
2. Optimize Your Website For Mobile Use
Many people now use mobile devices to get information and search for services or products to solve their pains. Research by statistics shows that by 2027, there will be over 7.6 million smartphone users.
This shows how many more target audiences are now using mobile devices in search of products to solve their pains. Make it easy for the prospect to engage your website on their mobile devices as they search for solutions to their pains.
Ensure your site is easy to navigate and has a faster loading speed. Place the most important information about your business products above the fold where target audience can see it without scrolling down the website pages.
You can have wonderful pages with great product descriptions, but if it takes ages for the target customers to get what they want from your store, they will look for another alternative, and that can affect your sales and revenue.
3. Optimize Your Checkout Process
Target customers hate it when they encounter challenges in their checkout process and can easily abandon the cart. Make the ecommerce checkout process easy and add a guest account so the target customers will not need to create an account in their purchase process.
Making the process complicated makes prospects shy away from your business which can affect your sales and revenue. Have different payment details so your target audience can use the model they are comfortable with as they purchase from your store.
4. Have a Great Customer Support Team
Sometimes your target audience faces challenges in the process of purchasing your products. Ensure you have a customer support team ready to help buyers handle any challenges they face in the buying process.
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To make your sales process more efficient, you can hire a virtual sales assistant to help with lead research and scheduling call bookings for prospects among other tasks.
A great and effective customer support team gives the target audience the trust and belief that the business values them and is ready to provide the best products and services to solve their challenges.
Have a live chat feature on your website where customers can get immediate assistance as they engage with the ecommerce store and learn about how the products will solve their pain or have any other questions they need help with. See this example for our site.
Source: Ranktracker
5. Run a Customer Experience Survey With Your Store
Prepare a survey and send it over to your most trusted and happy customers. Let them share their experience about how they have been enjoying your products.
Get the customers to share their feedback on what they would like the business to improve to deliver better products and customer service.
Include the customer recommendations on what they need to improve and offer a better user experience from your ecommerce store.
You can also ask for customer testimonials from happy customers. Target customers trust brands that other people have used and see value in solving their challenges. For instance, here is an example from one of our happy customers.
Source: Ranktracker
6. Leverage Social Media For Your Brand Marketing
Social media is a great channel to engage and get target customers to know about your brand and the ecommerce products you offer to solve customer pain points.
Create a wonderful page for your ecommerce brand on social media sites to show prospects what your business is all about and the products they have. For example, here is a screenshot of the Shopify LinkedIn company page.
Source: Linkedin
Join groups and forums where the target audience hangs and be helpful. Answer questions and ask helpful questions that show your expertise to build trust with target leads and get them to engage with your ecommerce store.
7. Run A/B Tests For Your E-commerce Store
To know what’s working for your ecommerce, you need to run a/b tests on different aspects of your website. You can run tests on your landing pages, the pricing page, the product description, and the checkout page.
Ensure you run the tests long enough to get the right information from the customers on what’s working. From the analysis of your tests, implement the changes that work for your ecommerce site to improve the conversion rate of prospects. Also, avoid making these a/b test mistakes in the process as they can affect the final feedback you get from the tests.
8. Offer Discounts and Free Shipping
Many target audiences will convert and buy products from an ecommerce store if they get offers, discounts, or free ecommerce shipping for the products they purchase.
You can give target audiences offers and discounts to motivate them to get the products at reduced prices.
This is mostly effective, especially during festive seasons. Here is an example of a newsletter promoting discount offers to our customers.
Source: Ranktracker
9. Make The Site Secure to Build Trust
The target audience will not share credit card information if they see your ecommerce website is not secure. To gain your target audience's trust, ensure your site is secure and add trust signals like SSL certificates. Here are some examples of these security seals showing your site is safe.
As part of building trust, keep creating content to educate and show value to prospects about your products and how they help solve the challenges.
Optimize the content with the right keywords target customers use in search for the right products. Create different types of content for higher engagement. Keep nurturing the leads through email marketing to nurture them through the buyer journey.
10. Have Clear Shipping and Return Policy Info
Many target customers want to know about the terms of shipping information of the products and return policy before they purchase from your store.
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To make it easy for the prospects have a simple and clear policy guiding the target prospects on the company shipping and return policy.
It will help them know what to do when they purchase products from your store. Place the links to the information details in a place where the target audiences can easily see.
Conclusion
A high conversion rate for your ecommerce can drive more leads and sales for your ecommerce store.
To have a higher conversion for your store, you need to implement the right marketing strategy to build trust and show your target audience the value they will get from your products to solve their pains.
Use the above strategy to give a great user experience, show value, get users to trust your brand, increase conversion rate, and grow your ecommerce business sales and revenue.